Skip to content

Gallery Kids Sunday performances 2012

Free, fun performances for children and adults

Exploring art through drama, storytelling, music and mime.

Note

There are sometimes changes to scheduled performers and we suggest you check the website close to the date. There will be no performance on Sundays 23 and 30 December 2012.

Sundays, 2.30pm

Free

Duration 30 minutes
Location: Entrance court

Look at me: what do you see?

Join the Gallery character Pertinos from the planet Boomdiddy Vostock as she takes you on a journey through modern and contemporary art. Written by Geoffrey McSkimming. Directed by Robina Beard OAM. Performed by Tara O’Sullivan. Designed by Virginia Naylor.

28 October performance interpreted into Auslan

sign language

 

Sunday 8 January 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 12 February 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 4 March 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 25 March 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 11 November 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 2 December 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Interactive art

Imaginative, explorative, improvisational storytelling with Open Stage Productions through the Gallery’s modern collection.

 

Sunday 15 January 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 22 January 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 26 February 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 11 March 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 17 June 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 22 July 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 19 August 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 14 October 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 16 December 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Commedia dell’ Arte

Meet a cast of carnival characters in a lively puppetry performance with lots of laughter and mischievous action with Dennis Murphy.

 

Sunday 5 February 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 18 March 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 15 July 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 12 August 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 16 September 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 18 November 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Didgeridoo dance

Share songs, stories, dance and music with the Aboriginal performer Matthew Doyle.

 

Sunday 19 February 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 6 May 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 8 July 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 4 November 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Floating on a sea of stories

Join performer Bronwyn Vaughan for a delightful mix of contemporary and traditional stories from Japan, blending beautiful costumes, puppets, props and music.

 

Sunday 1 April 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

New, next, now

Join the Etcetera Duo for a performance filled with mime, magic and illusion as they ‘unpack’ contemporary art. Performed by Russell Garbutt and Julia Cotton.

 

Sunday 8 April 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 22 April 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 29 April 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

People and portraits

Be inspired by well-known children’s illustrator David Legge and learn how to draw your own portraits.

 

Sunday 15 April 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 20 May 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 27 May 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 3 June 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

On a far away mountain

Theatrical storytelling with Bronwyn Vaughan.

29 July performance interpreted into Auslan

sign language

 

Sunday 10 June 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 29 July 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Aditi and her rickshaw

Theatrical storytelling, song and music with Bronwyn Vaughan.

 

Sunday 24 June 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 9 December 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Gert by Sea: my album, my country

Join our Gallery character Gert by Sea on a lively tour of the Australian galleries, specially written and created by children’s author Geoffrey McSkimming. Directed by Robina Beard, performed by Crystal Hegedis.

 

Sunday 1 July 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

The art of drawing

Be inspired by well-known children’s illustrator David Legge and learn some special drawing techniques.

26 August performance interpreted into Auslan

sign language

 

Sunday 5 August 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 26 August 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

When camels could fly

Traveller’s tales from the Silk Road told through theatrical storytelling, song and music with Bronwyn Vaughan.

 

Sunday 2 September 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

My Sauce Good

My Sauce Good perform songs with a French flavour in this special interactive music show inspired by the exhibition Eugène Atget: old Paris.

 

Sunday 9 September 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

You beaut!

Join the Etcetera Duo for a performance inspired by the Australian art collection. Filled with mime, magic and illusion, this special performance has been created exclusively for the Gallery. Suitable for children of all ages. Performed by Russell Garbutt and Julia Cotton.

30 September performance interpreted into Auslan

sign language

 

Sunday 23 September 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 30 September 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

Sunday 7 October 2012 2:30pm – 3pm

No performance this Sunday

 

Sunday 21 October 2012 2:30pm – 3pm
CANCELLED

Sunday 28 October 2012 2:30pm – 3pm
CANCELLED

Sunday 23 December 2012 2:30pm – 3pm
CANCELLED

Sunday 30 December 2012 2:30pm – 3pm
CANCELLED

Interactive art

Imaginative, explorative, improvisational storytelling with Open Stage Productions through the Gallery’s modern collection.

Interpreted into Auslan

sign language

 

Sunday 25 November 2012 2:30pm – 3pm