Bulgari Art Award

Jude Rae with SL 359 2016

The Bulgari Art Award is an annual award to support contemporary Australian painting.

Each year, the Gallery identifies a significant painting by a mid-career Australian artist to be acquired for the collection.

The award, sponsored by Bulgari, consists of $50,000 for acquisition of the painting and a residency for the artist in Italy valued at $30,000. The total award of $80,000 makes it one of the most valuable art awards in Australia.

2016 winner

The 2016 Bulgari Art Award winner is Jude Rae for her painting SL 359 2016

Read the media release

View this work in the collection

Past winners

Ildiko Kovacs received the 2015 Bulgari Art Award for her painting Onde 2015.

Daniel Boyd won the 2014 Bulgari Art Award for his painting Untitled 2014.

The 2013 winner was Jon Cattapan for his work Imagine a Raft (Hard Rubbish 4+5) 2012.

Michael Zavros won the award in 2012 for The new Round Room 2012 – the first year of the partnership between the Gallery and Bulgari.

View these works in the Gallery collection

Information for artists

The Bulgari Art Award is not an open competition, like the Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes. You cannot apply to enter.