Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes 2018

12 May – 9 Sep 2018

Location: Major exhibition gallery

Charges apply

The Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes is an annual exhibition eagerly anticipated by artists and audiences alike.

The Archibald Prize, first awarded in 1921, is Australia’s favourite art award, and one of its most prestigious. Awarded to the best portrait painting, it’s a who’s who of Australian culture – from politicians to celebrities, sporting heroes to artists.

The Wynne Prize is awarded to the best landscape painting of Australian scenery, or figure sculpture, while the Sulman Prize is given to the best subject painting, genre painting or mural project in oil, acrylic, watercolour or mixed media.

Each year, the trustees of the Art Gallery of NSW judge the Archibald and Wynne, and invite an artist to judge the Sulman.

Visit the exhibition to vote for your favourite portrait in the ANZ People’s Choice award before voting closes and see the work of budding artists aged 5-18 on display in the Young Archies.

Explore the prizes

Find out more about the prizes – including entry information – and browse the finalists and winners year by year. Start exploring

Charges apply
Tickets available closer to exhibition opening

Image: Archibald Prize 2017 winner Mitch Cairns and the subject of his portrait, Agatha Gothe-Snape