European Romanticism

Füssli, Géricault, Rottman, Overbeck, Schnorr von Carolsfeld

Arthaus | ISBN 9783869231105

Runtime: 50 minutes

DVD region: ALL

Part of the 1000 Masterworks series.



In response to the process of industrialisation in the 17th and 18th centuries, Romantic art from that period focussed on poeticising life and drawing back into imagination and introspection. Füssli, Géricault, Rottmann, Overbeck and Schnorr von Carolsfeld make exemplary use of elements alluding to mythology, religion and nature. Johann Heinrich Füssli: Titania and Bottom (1793), Théodore Géricault: The Raft of Medusa (1818/19), Carl Rottmann: Zyklus - The Greek Cycle (1839-50), Johann Friedrich Overbeck: Germania and Italia (after 1828), Julius Schnorr von Carolsfeld: The Family of Johann the Baptist with the Family of Christ (1817)

“1000 Masterpieces from the Great Museums of the World” is one of the most successful TV series about art. The original, with improved image quality, takes us on a fascinating journey through the history of art. Comprehensively illustrated and compellingly presented – the well-known authors of five short art surveys provide a deeper insight into the masterpieces of painting.